Drury Awards Future Doctors Smith-Glynn-Callaway Scholarship

Dr  Waterfield and students Fall 2013The three Drury University recipients of the Smith-Glynn-Callaway Medical Foundation Scholarship were (from left) Jared Bishop, Ryan Dickey and Torie King. They were among those recognized at an honors luncheon in November. Foundation President Dr. Jim Waterfield (center) was able to meet and share a few remarks with the students, who are working toward admission to medical school.

The Smith-Glynn-Callaway Medical Foundation was established as the Springfield Medical Foundation in 1947, changing its name to in 1957. In 1997, the private foundation dissolved and transferred to the CFO as a donor-advised fund. Since that time, a 15-person advisory board has recommended grants totaling $1,630,724 to promote education and research in medicine and the ancillary professions in the Ozarks. Many of those grant dollars have been used for pre-med undergraduate scholarships and medical school scholarships.