19th annual Humanitarian of the Year nominations being accepted

The Community Foundation of the Ozarks is now accepting nominations for the nineteenth annual Humanitarian of the Year Award. The deadline for nominations is October 20, 2008. Nomination were mailed to area nonprofits and others recently and are also available here.

The Humanitarian of the Year award honors an individual in our community who has, at personal sacrifice, extended services, time and resources towards helping others, and to recognize the cause and work of such individuals. An independent selection committee comprised of the Chairman-Elect of the Chamber of Commerce, three members of the clergy and three members of the community received the nominations and selected the honoree.

Accompanying the crystal award is a $5,000 cash grant to be divided equally between the recipient and the charities of the recipient’s choice. The award is made possible by earnings from an endowment fund established by Jewell Thompson Schweitzer, a former Community Foundation Board member and current Advisory Director.

Past recipients include: Marie Prater; Pat Walker; Mary Beth O’Reilly; Sister Lorraine Biebel; Calvin Allen; Leonard Spellman; Linda Duncan and Janie Brunette, RN, MSN; Dr. Dorsey Levell; E.E. “Johnny” Johnson; Dr. Jim Blaine; John Harp; Paul and Cyndy Teas; Judge Tom E. Mountjoy; Harold Bengsch; Dr. John Bentley; Wade E. Palmer; Dr. Judith Gonzalez; and William and Virginia Darr.

Posted in: