Coover Regional Grantmaking Program announces Fall 2009 round targeting rural poverty

Nine of Missouri’s ten poorest counties, in terms of per capita income, are in the rural Ozarks (Douglas, Hickory, Oregon, Ozark, Ripley, Shannon, Texas, Washington, and Wright). All of the counties and towns across the Ozarks are familiar with the problems associated with rural poverty. In the spring, The Louis and Dorothy Coover Regional Grantmaking Program, a partnership between Commerce Trust Company and CFO, awarded a number of grants targeting poverty in rural Ozarks communities.

Formalizing the precedent established in the last round of grants from the Coover program, a fall grant cycle that will exclusively seek to support grants that directly impact the effects and conditions of rural poverty in the Ozarks has been added for 2009.

The Coover regional grantmaking program supports organizations with regional service areas outside of metropolitan Springfield and Greene County.


  • Coover grant requests are due by 5:00 P.M. October 30, 2009.
  • Awards are November 17, 2009.

For more information or to apply visit the Coover Regional grantmaking program page of our website.