Humanitarian of the Year Nominations Due Monday

Jewell Schweitzer

Applications are now being accepted for the 2013 Humanitarian Award to honor a southwest Missouri resident for service that contributes to the betterment of his or her community.

This year will mark the 24th annual Humanitarian Award, which was founded by longtime Community Foundation of the Ozarks supporter Jewell Thompson Schweitzer.

The deadline for nominations is 5 p.m., Monday, Oct. 21, 2013. Nominations can be submitted online here.

Nominations also may be e-mailed or mailed to Judy Galbraith with the Springfield Area Chamber of Commerce at:; or Springfield Area Chamber of Commerce, 2013 Humanitarian Award, P.O. Box 1687, Springfield, MO 65801.

The criteria for the award describe a humanitarian as “an individual who has the courage to take decisive action, the wisdom to face aggressive challenges, and the willingness to sacrifice to affect these causes that have a long-term impact on the betterment of the community.”  The award is designed to recognize a living person; posthumous nominations are not accepted. More information about the criteria, as well as a list of past winners, is available at:

The nominations will be evaluated by an independent committee of three members of the clergy and three community leaders under the direction of the Springfield Area Chamber of Commerce.

This year’s luncheon to honor the 2013 Humanitarian will take place at noon, Thursday, Dec. 5, at the Doubletree Hotel.

Recent honorees include the 2012 Humanitarian, Randy Russell, who was recognized for his volunteer service to the arts and support for arts in education; and Greene County Associate Commissioner Roseann Bentley, who was recognized in 2011 for her long record of community service and philanthropy in education, government and civic leadership. In 2010, Doug Pitt was honored for creating Care to Learn,  a program to provide basic needs for schoolchildren, and his other projects to help people in need in the Ozarks and around the world.

The winner receives a $3,000 cash award, which he or she has traditionally donated to a favorite charity.

For more information, contact: Winter Skelton, Development Operations Officer,; or (417) 864-6199.


Posted in: