Meet the 2012 Class of the Ozarks Teacher Corps

The newest class of Ozarks Teacher Corps scholarship recipients was formally introduced on April 26 at the Rural Schools Rendezvous in Thomasville, Mo.

The nine students, representing four Ozarks universities and eight different rural home towns, will receive $4,000 for each of their final two years in college in exchange for a promise to teach at least three years after graduation in a rural school district.

The nine new members–who join a group of seniors entering their second year in the Ozarks Teacher Corps–include:

Jessica Bruce, Missouri State University, from Bolivar

Lillard (Del) Davis, Missouri State University-West Plains, from Mountain Grove

Amy Ginnings, Missouri State University, from Pleasant Hope

Deidre Quackenbush, Missouri State University, from Ava

Patricia Rodriguez, Missouri State University-West Plains, from West Plains

ReBena Sigman, Missouri State University-West Plains, from Cabool

Morgan Spencer, Evangel University, from Stark City

Ashley Tucker, Drury University, from Fair Grove

Myra Yost, Missouri State University-West Plains, from West Plains

The Ozarks Teacher Corps scholarships are made possible by the Chesley and Flora Lee Wallis Scholarship Fund, created by generous donors committed to ensuring advanced education for Ozarks students. The fund supports students involved in the Rural Schools Partnership, an initiative of the Community Foundation of the Ozarks dedicated to strengthening rural schools as anchors of their communities.

The Ozarks Teacher Corps was inaugurated in 2010 with its first group of recipients; since then, most of the program’s members have graduated and accepted positions teaching in rural Ozarks school districts, or are on the path to doing so. The OTC students meet as a group four times a year for field experiences and training opportunities.

In addition to the scholarships, each student will receive a free membership to the Rural Schools Innovation Network, a training and networking program of the Rural School and Community Trust.