Meramec Regional Community Foundation Initiates Pulaski County Flood Relief Fund-Raising Effort

In the wake of unprecedented and catastrophic flooding along the Rubidoux Creek and the Big Piney and Gasconade rivers in Pulaski County, the Meramec Regional Community Foundation (MRCF) established the Pulaski County Flood Relief Fund during its Aug. 7 meeting.

All donations made to the fund are dedicated to flood relief efforts in Pulaski County. The area hardest hit by flooding is Waynesville, MO., the county seat of Pulaski County. Waynesville, with a population of roughly 5,000 people, sits along Route 66 and Interstate 44, and the Rubidoux, a small, quiet creek runs through the heart of the city. Proceeds will address individual and community needs created by this flood event in Pulaski County through established, local non-profit groups, religious organizations, schools and county and local governments of Pulaski County.

The Community Foundation of the Ozarks is making a seed grant of $2,500 to the Pulaski fund in support of MRCF as one of its 44-affiliate foundations. The CFO believes community foundations, like MRCF, play an important role in disaster recovery by understanding local needs and supporting non-profit organizations that provide services to those affected, particularly in mid-to-long-term recovery efforts.

All donations are tax deductible, and can be made online or by check.

Persons wishing to donate online may do so by visiting CFO’s website at Please enter “Pulaski County Flood Relief Fund” in the field for the fund or program you are donating to.

For those wishing to donate by check, please make checks payable to Pulaski County Flood Relief Fund, and mail or drop off to Meramec Regional Community Foundation, 4 Industrial Dr., St. James, Mo. 65559.

MRCF is an outgrowth of the Meramec Regional Planning Commission (MRPC) and is an affiliate of CFO in Springfield. The regional affiliate was formed in 2010. Its 12-member board includes representation from each of the eight Meramec counties and from MRPC. Wayne Parry, a Rolla banker, serves as MRCF’s chairman.

Currently, MRCF has 24 funds totaling more than $467,000.

MRPC, in addition to establishing the regional foundation, provides staff support to MRCF. Formed in 1969, MRPC is a voluntary council of governments serving Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Osage, Phelps, Pulaski and Washington counties and their respective cities. A professional staff of 25, directed by the MRPC board, offers technical assistance and services, such as grant preparation and administration, housing assistance, transportation planning, environmental planning, ordinance codification, business loans and other services to member communities.

For the latest news and events from MRPC and MRCF, find them on Facebook at or visit the MRPC website at