Record Number of CFO Scholarships Available

The Community Foundation of the Ozarks is offering a record number of scholarships that open today for applications from students across southern Missouri interested in pursuing advanced education opportunities.

This year’s scholarship awards and renewals, which are made possible by generous donors, are valued at nearly $925,000, up from about $815,000 awarded in the 2011 scholarship cycle. These represent more than 220 named scholarship funds, with many awarding multiple scholarships to students across southern Missouri.

Information about the scholarship opportunities is available at, or students can contact their high-school counseling offices. Application deadlines vary, with the earliest due on March 1, 2012.

The CFO scholarships offer a wide range of opportunities for students interested in public or private colleges and universities, medical or nursing schools, vocational-technical education, and funds designated for students from specific high schools by alumni giving back to their communities.

Some examples of this year’s new scholarship funds include:

The Johnny E. Tubaugh Scholarship Fund will award four renewable $2,500 scholarships to students at Dade County’s four high schools in Greenfield, Lockwood, Dadeville and Everton. The only child of Golden City farmers, Mr. Tubaugh worked in agribusiness and left a bequest for the proceeds of his family’s farm to create a scholarship fund to benefit Dade County students. The Tubaugh Fund is a component of two CFO affiliates, the Lockwood and DACO community foundations

The new Nora Slusher Scholarship will award six $2,500 renewable scholarships to students graduating from Forsyth and Bradleyville high schools as a component of the Community Foundation of Taney County. Mrs. Slusher, who chaired the Roy W. Slusher Foundation until her death in August 2011, left a bequest establishing the fund. She was well known in the Bradleyville area for giving a new pair of shoes to each student once a year.

The Richard & Jeanne Cavender Scholarship for Public Service will provide two $500 scholarships to college-bound seniors in Meramec Regional Community Foundation’s area of Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Osage, Phelps, Pulaski and Washington Counties. Richard Cavender retired last year as director of the Meramec Regional Planning Commission and now serves on the CFO Board of Directors.

“CFO-administered scholarships continue to have double-digit growth, benefitting outstanding students in our greater affiliate region of southern Missouri,” Scholarship Coordinator Judith Billings said. “What better way to encourage and support these young people, than to establish scholarships that both leave a legacy and ensure higher education for future generations.”

For more information about CFO scholarship programs, contact Judith Billings at:; or call (417) 864-6199.